Settled on the Van der Hagen

About two years ago I ditched traditional razors after a friend recommended I try a straight razor. Not really knowing what I was doing, I picked up a generic shavette from Sally’s and went to town. Fast forward to now. I have the wet shaving technique down pretty well, however it takes me quite some time to do a complete shave and I find the process to be a little cumbersome (especially with a shavette). I’m in the Navy and needless to say, time is of the essence. Wanting to expedite the morning shave a bit I decided to upgrade to a double edge safety razor.

I’ve been flip flopping all day and at one point had the Micro Touch One ready to go in my shopping cart but some guys over at /r/wicked_edge convinced me to upgrade to the Van der Hagen (a difference of about $8). I’m pretty excited about this new journey and can’t wait to receive my VDH in the mail!

(Coincidentally, I’ve been using VDH’s brush and shave soap with my shavette for a while :p)

Leave a Reply

