Photsphere: Canyon Park, Rio Rancho, NM

Near my house there is a park which I drive by almost every day. There’s not much “curb side appeal,” but nevertheless I thought it would be a good location to really put Google’s new Photosphere Camera to the test. I decided I would not only do one photosphere, but do multiple throughout the park so an Internet user could essentially “walk” through the park.

What I discovered while making my photospheres really intrigued me. Throughout the park, there are goals set up so people can play frisbee golf. However, as you go east through the park, some of the goals are quite a ways back and the landscape has become really gnarly and overgrown. To put it simply, the park is in a state of “urban decay” if you will. The park reminds me of Banky’s pieces that feature a serene park with flipped over shopping carts and abandoned cars in them (example here).

It’s quite sad to see, as I’m sure the developers who designed and built Canyon Park had grand visions of North Hills residents using this park for generations to come. The park’s web page touts the park as having “BBQ grills, Disc Golf, Picnic Tables, and a playground.” The playground leaves much to be desired and I don’t recall seeing any BBQ grills or picnic tables. And as previously mentioned, several of the disc golf goals are surrounded by tall weeds and are actually quite hard to see from a distance.

Leave a Reply

